Knowledge Management Platform

Knowledge Management Award 2020 Winners!

The Winners of the Knowledge Management Award 2020 have been selected. We congratulate Kimiz Dalkir, Associate Professor at McGill University, Canada for the Individual Award and UNICEF for the special category for International Organisations!

Kimiz Dalkir, Associate Professor at McGill University

Winner of the KM Award 2020

    Knowledge Management Award

    Every year since 2009, the international Knowledge Management Award is bestowed upon an international organization as well as an outstanding personalityA jury that is constituted under the auspice of the Association Knowledge Management Austrianominates the candidates. The prize is given in recognition of the winner’s outstanding accomplishments in the research, implementation and innovation of successful management methods for knowledge politics and knowledge management. It is also meant to recognize the impact made on the development of a knowledge society in general and more specifically on knowledge creation, transformation, distribution and application.

    Knowledge Management Award 2019

    The Ceremony of the International Knowledge Management Award 2019 – given annually by Knowledge Management Austria – will take place on the 25th of September at the 1st African Knowledge for Development Partnership Conference at the United Nations Office Nairobi/Kenya. More than 200 participants will celebrate with us the pioneers and achievements in Africa.

    The winners of the Knowledge Management Award 2019 are:

    • ILRI – International Livestock Research Institute
    • Charles Dhewa 

    Join the conference to meet the awardees and to learn from their Achievements.

    Knowledge Management Award 2018

    The KM Awards 2018 have been given at the K4D-Summit during Geneva.Knowledge.Week on 12. September 2018 at the WTO – World Trade Organization in Geneva.

    Winner of the KM Award for International Organisations:
    IFAD – International Fund for Agricultural Development

    Winner of the KM Award for individual achievements:
    Dr. Ali Asghar Pourmand

    KM Award Ceremony at the World Trade Organization, Geneva, 12 September 2018


    • 2009: Prof. Dr. Ursula Schneider-Hendrich
    • 2010: Dr. Charles Savage; IAEA – International Atomic Energy Agency
    • 2011: Prof. Dr. Stefan Güldenberg (siehe Bild oben); UNESCO – UN Education, Science and Culture Organization
    • 2012: Prof. Dr. Nico Stehr and UNDP – United Nations Development Programme
    • 2013: World Bank
    • 2014: Prof. Klaus North
    • 2015: DI Dr. Angelika Mittelmann; UNESCO – UN Education, Science and Culture Organization
    • 2016: Dr. Ibrahim Seba Al Marri; KM4Dev Community
    • 2017: JIU Joint Inspection Unit of the United Nations System; Prof. Leif Edvinsson
    • 2018: IFAD – International Fund for Agricultural Development; Dr. Ali Asghar Pourmand
    • 2019: ILRI – International Lifestock Research Institute; Charles Dhewa
    • 2020: UNICEF – United Nations International Children Emergency Fund; Prof. Kimiz Dalkir
    • 2021?: The KM Award Ceremony shall take place in December 2021, nominations are welcome.

    The Columns of Knowledge

    The physical instantiation of the KM Award is a metallic sculpture created by the Austrian artist Prof. Helmut Margreiter, named the “Column of Knowledge”. The object depicts the dialogue between established and well-proven knowledge, represented by a glossy, cylindrical pillar, and the innovative pursuit of the unknown, the undefined and fragile, represented by a rough counterpart in a triangular shape. In this respect, knowledge is understood as an intangible, fluid condition between these two worlds where the appreciation of the well-known is combined with a yearning for novelty. The KM Award sculpture was presented for the first time in public in its tall version at the UNESCO World Day for Cultural Diversity on 21 May 2008.